h1

Good Omens

July 16, 2008

Example

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Greetings all.

I’ve been away from this space for a while, but it’s been one of those stretches where I ended up momentarily bookless. I tried to remedy this by working my way through a couple of magazines, reading a legal abstract (on the history of the copyright of the song ‘Happy Birthday’, a lot more interesting than it sounds I assure you) I downloaded from the interwebs and then rereading an old fave (‘Jupiter’s Travels’ by Ted Simon) but didn’t get very far before the need to read something new (intersecting by a fortuitous trip to a book store, natch) led me to the book before you today.
My wife tipped me off about this one (though I don’t recall where she heard about it). I was familiar with the names of both Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, but had never read anything by either of them before I picked up ‘Good Omens’.
I hesitate to give away much of the plot, but the book is a comical look at the approach of the apocalypse. The two main characters, an angel and a demon are both very well drawn.
I’m often curious about the methodology of co-writing something as complex as a novel. I’m not sure how Gaiman and Pratchett worked it out, but they did a fine job. The book is always funny and occasionally poignant.
Though it does qualify as a “fantasy”, if you’re put off by the idea of a novel of that particular ilk (especially one co-written by a major force in that genre, as Pratchett is), don’t be. If anything, ‘Good Omens’ is more of a socio-religious satire with lots of interesting twists and turns.
It definitely made me want to check out other works by the two authors.
Now reading – Last of the Mohicans – by James Fenimore Cooper.

One comment

  1. I haven’t read all Terry Pratchett’s books but curiously enough I’m in the middle of reading
    “Hogfather” his 20th Discworld book. They’re
    deceptively lightweight but well worth reading
    – it’s best to read them in order but no harm done if you don’t. At the very least they’ll bring a
    smile to your face as he’s amusing without being deliberately cute. Think Douglas Adams meets
    Fritz Leiber.



Leave a Reply

